Team Sky topped Tour de France prize money list

Posted by tan xiao yan on

Sky won over a third of the €2,287,650 prize, and took €716,590 home in prize money while Cofidis only got a measly prize, €19,230, as ranked 22nd team of the peloton at the bottom. The overall prize money has reduced from 2016 when €2,295,850 was awarded to the peloton. However, Sky's prize money has grow comparing with its previous Tour winning years. In his the fourth win in this race of his career, Chris Froome won the bulk of Sky's prize money with €500,000, along with €500 for each day spent in yellow and his minor places in stage results. The fourth place of Mikel Landa also added €70,000 to Sky's haul with the €50,000 for winning the team classification, helping the British squad bolster its earnings.

Cannondale-Drapac's prize money mainly came from Rigoberto Uran when the Colombian attained €200,000 for his second place overall finish. Team Sunweb's third place of the standings was built on four stage wins, ninth place overall for Warren Barguil along with the points classification, mountains classification and super combative award. The team claimed €177,790, just higher than Romain Bardet's AG2R-La Mondiale team on €173,040. While Bardet brought the majority of AG2R-La Mondiale's total as he won €100,000 for third place, plus his top-five stage results. Quick-Step Floors, with five stage wins for Marcel Kittel and Dan Martin sixth overall, was the only other team to get €100,000. Of the four Pro-Continental wild card invitation teams, Direct Energie performed the best on the prize money table in 15th place and attained €43,720. At the other end of the list, Cofidis and Bahrain-Merida were the two teams fail to achieve the €20, 000. Movistar claimed just €24,090.

Below is the list of top 10 in2017 Tour de France prize money

# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Team Sky 716,590
2 Cannondale-Drapac 243,250
3 Team Sunweb 177,790
4 AG2R La Mondiale 173,040
5 Quick-Step Floors 115,440
6 Lotto Soudal 87,590
7 Astana Pro Team 81,080
8 Team LottoNl-Jumbo 77,250
9 Trek-Segafredo 69,580
10 Orica-Scott 66,900